Our favorite radio station is WFUV.  Located at 90.7 on the FM dial (and streaming at wfuv.org) it is the member-supported Voice of Fordham University.

One of our favorite programs on WFUV is the Big Broadcast.  Hosted by Rich Conaty and airing between 8:00 pm and midnight on Sundays, the show features jazz and popular music of 1920s and 30s.  As described by its host, the Big Broadcast is for the “old and the old at heart.”

I put myself in the latter category because clearly, it is the music that is old, not me.  It’s great stuff:  upbeat, danceable, boistrous, and for the most part optimistic.  It is both historically significant (in the development of musical genres and pop culture) and a joy to listen to.  But it is music from before my time.

No, music from my time begins in the 1960s and 70s.  And I realized this evening, while listening to some tunes from that era, that to a younger generation, this groovy music is before their time; that to people born in the 1990s or 2000s, what I consider my music will soon have (if it doesn’t already) the same relationship to them as Rich Conaty’s favorite music now has to me (and him).

Of course, there is nothing wrong with this and it doesn’t, as some would suspect, make me feel old.  Older, perhaps, but not old.  The shift in point of view, however, does feel odd.  Music that I consider an integral part of my youth and, to some degree, a reflection of (if not an influence on) my personality and style is for others primarily of historical interest, music about which someone might create a radio show.

As Annette Hanshaw (a 1920s jazz vocalist) would sing, “That’s all.”

